General · Meet the Team

Meet the Team – Monty

Which Bike do you currently ride?
I currently ride a Cervelo S5, MTN Qhubeka Team Edition.
I also have a Cervelo RCA, which does not get enough time on the road.
 
Whats your most memorable moment on the bike?
Completing Paris-Roubaix with my friends Walter, Jonas and Otto.
That was a special ride, we had never met each other before this ride. I knew them all individually but they had not met one another. We spent the day suffering on the cobbles together in the pouring rain and had a great time.
We all still speak with each other to this day which is important.
 
What would be your useful tip to people looking to ride in Dubai?
Look Good, and the Legs will be Good.
Always wear suntan lotion, and stay hydrated.
 
Who is your cycling hero?
Actually I have a couple.
Bradley Wiggins obviously, for all of his achievements and everything he accomplished across many different disciplines of the sport. He is the reason I ride a bike.
Brian Holm for his continued advice, funny stories and making cycling cool from a style perspective.
 
How long have you been riding with the Dubai Roadsters?
For about 16 months.
 
What do you enjoy most about Dubai Roadsters?
Well organised, hassle free riding. It also gets you back in time to enjoy the rest of your weekend.
 
How has cycling developed during your stay here in Dubai?
I have only been here for a short period of time but even in that short time frame cycling has developed rapidly. For me personally, the clothing and how people are more expressive in what they wear has been great to witness. The introduction of MAAP to the store, and how people have taken to the brand has been a great to see personally.
 
How does cycling in Dubai compare to your home country?
It is very flat in comparison, and therefore a lot faster. The riders here are serious when it comes to riding their bikes hard and there is no such thing as a “coffee ride”. It’s always full gas which is fun as you always need to have good legs. It is also a very small community so everybody knows each other which is great, there is always people to ride with.
The facilities such as District One Cycling Track and Al Qudra Cycle Path are absolutely phenomenal, and a pleasure to ride on.
 
What are your goals for the remainder of 2017?
To promote the sport of cycling in a positive light and to help it grow here in the UAE.
My biggest ambition is to ensure everybody looks cool on the bike and makes the correct kit choices, educating people on different materials and fabrics and how to wear different styles of clothing in different conditions.
 
Whats your favourite piece of cycling clothing when riding in Dubai?
You know if you ask me a question about clothing I will talk all day.
I am extremely privileged to be a MAAP ambassador so I am always wearing fresh new designs. The guys from Down Under always make sure I am looking as good as I possibly can be.
A bright pair of socks will complete any apparel combination so its important to have a great sock collection.
I always ride with a base layer under my jersey, it works wonders for temperature control and management of sweat.
Want to know more about MAAPCheck it out here
 
Whats your opinion on the length of cycling socks?
If you are wearing ankle socks, you are not riding next to me.
 

What is your favourite way  to you replenish the calories after a long ride?

Swimming Pool, with a beer. Always.
 
Do you shave your legs?
Yes, I do.
 
Are you on STRAVA / Social Media?
Instagram: @montytheheron
I also run the social media accounts for Wolfis Bike Shop and my friend Brian Holm’s cancer charity, @LaFlammeRouge.
 
What’s your favorite piece of cycling equipment?
The products offered by Ceramic Speed are really special. I was completely blown away with the difference it made to my drivetrain and how much easier it is to maintain bigger watts for longer periods of time through lack of friction.
 
Who is your favorite Professional Rider?
Zdenek Stybar for me is probably my favourite professional rider. I have met him a few times and he is a great guy.
He is such a professioanl, very intelligent and his riding style is great to watch.
I also enjoy catching up with Luka Mezgec, Fabio Sabatini and Matteo Trentin whenever I bump in to them at a race.
 
How can you be identified on the ride?
I am the one dressed the loudest with the noisy freewheel body.
MAAPIMG_0151IMG_3095IMG_3423IMG_2838

2 thoughts on “Meet the Team – Monty

Leave a Reply

