General · Meet the Roadsters

Meet the Roadsters – Marcus Smith

Which Bike do you currently ride? 
 
One that needs to go faster! Scott Foil! Ok maybe the speed is down to the rider. 
 
Whats your most memorable moment on the bike? 
 
In the short time I have been cycling, the time I have spent climbing in Europe has to be the best memories. Stelvio in Italy and then in France Mont Ventoux, Galibier, Les Deux Alps and Alp D’huez were all very special moments. 
 
What would be your useful tip to people looking to ride in Dubai? 
 
Get a bike and a helmet and get moving, stop procrastinating, just go out and ride as fast as you can…..it’s fun!!
 
Who is your cycling hero? 
 
My Dad. I remember growing up seeing him ride and it inspired me. He has done some awesome challenges on the bike which I saw bring him a lot of happiness. That is a huge motivation for me.
 
How long have you been riding with the Dubai Roadsters?
3 months
 
What do you enjoy most about Dubai Roadsters?
People being brought together to get better at life through sport. 
 
How has cycling developed during your stay here in Dubai? 
 
Ha ha. I got here in 1983……the biggest challenge then was getting my bike moving as most of the roads were sand! It’s just awesome that we now have cycle tracks and roads to ride on as well as Wolfi’s shop to get bikes from and dream in. 
 
How does cycling in Dubai compare to your home country? 
 
Thankfully a lot warmer. 
 
What are your goals for the remainder of 2016? 
 
To have as much fun as possible, go as fast as possible and get better at life through riding my bike. The passover into so many areas of life is just awesome. 
 
Whats your favourite piece of cycling clothing when riding in Dubai? 
 
Given that I do a lot of CrossFit where generally we don’t wear many clothes, this is a good question. I am loving Sako socks these days. The loud colours keep things fun. 
 
Whats your opinion on the length of cycling socks? 
 
Too low and you may as well not wear any and just admit the fact you look a bit odd and too high and you should really be playing rugby or football. Mid calf, let them see the shape of your calves, if you don’t have that shape…..work harder. 
 
What is your favourite way to you replenish the calories after a long ride? 
 

Something from www.smithstpaleo.com And yeah you can call me biased because it’s my wife’s company but taste some of the stuff and then lets chat. 

Do you shave your legs? 
 
Yes and I have done since I was 18 when I used to play rugby and got some rank infections from dirty water used on the fields and was told it would help. Got into the habit and haven’t got out of it. Does it really give me 20 additional watts? If so then thats also cool….head may be next.
 
Are you on STRAVA / Social Media? 
 
You can check me out on Instagram @mjd_smith where I share many parts of my life through pictures. For the real uncut version check me out on Snap chat @ifms7 Strava? Dude I have businesses to run, I need to save time somewhere so I can ride and workout more. 
 
What’s your favorite piece of cycling equipment? 
 
My bike!
 
Who is your favorite Professional Rider? 
 
It’s probably easy to choose Froome because of what he is doing right now and that is awesome. I have a huge amount of respect for Cavendish, the guy has something very special.
 
How can you be identified on the ride?
 
I will have INNERFIGHT written on me somewhere. Come and say hi tell me something interesting…..and no “it’s hot” is not interesting!
1
11
111
7
29
34
76

3 thoughts on “Meet the Roadsters – Marcus Smith

Leave a Reply

