General

5 Riders to watch during the Tour de France 2016

THOMAS VOECKLER

I always enjoy watching Thomas Voeckler at the Tour de France, although it will be strange not seeing him on a Colnago this year. His time spent in the yellow jersey back in 2011 was great to watch and it energised the French crowds. I look forward to seeing the many facial expressions as he tries to get himself in to many of the breakaways and I would love to see him win on Bastille Day up Mont Ventoux.
 image (6)
MARCEL KITTEL
 
Good friend of the shop, I think Marcel is enjoying himself with the new team and has found his confidence again. Etixx Quick Step have picked a young and hungry squad for this years edition, and I think Marcel will be a good bet for the Green Sprint Jersey this year. I would love to see my fellow country man win on the Champs Elysees this year!
 image (4)
EDVALD BOASSON HAGEN
Since joining Dimension Data (formerly MTN Qhubeka), I think Edvald has been given the freedom to enjoy his riding and I love to watch him on the bike. He is always smiling when he is riding his bike and for me that is the most important thing about cycling, that it is enjoyable. I also enjoy watching Eddie the Boss because he has the best looking bike in the peloton – the Norwegian National Champion Cervelo S5.
 image (5)
PETER SAGAN
I think Peter Sagan is the closest thing cycling has to a rock and roll star and his style on the bike is fantastic to watch. His MTB skills allow him to descend like nobody else in the peloton and his attacking style always make him a great choice for stage wins. He has made the Green Jersey his own over the last few years and I think it will be hard for the other sprinters to take it away from him.
 image (7)
MICHAEL MATTHEWS
 
Last year Michael Matthews was extremey unfortunate with crashes and he got beaten up pretty badly with rib injuries and contusions on his leg. I think this year he’ll come back stronger and determined to prove a point. I think he looks at peace on his Scott Foil and I hope he can ride the bike to success at this years Tour.
 image (8)

Leave a Reply

